HS band woes - argh

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Dan Mordhorst on April 09, 2002 at 18:52:08:

Hey all,

I just wanna say that I thank you all for reading this. So here it goes, I play Bass Trombone in my school Jazz Ensemble. I hold the trombone the correct way. The way that I was taught by the former principle trombonist with the La Scala Orchestra, and he currently plays with the Metropolitan Orchestra and the NY Philharmonic. I studied semi-privately with him for over 4 years. And I indirectly studied with Moe Schneider (if any of you know him) through my brother. I hold the trombone at a slightly downward angle. This, according to my band director is incorrect. I should have the music stand at it's lowest position and my slide should be played under the stand. So low that I am hunched over, and if I go out to 7th position for the low CC the slide touches the ground. He says that we look more uniform. The rest of the trombone section plays this way normally, b/c frankly, they don't care. When I play like this I am unable to get a full breath, I have no high register (especially since I play a DW 0AL). He tells me that "all professionals play this way. That is the correct way to play. They manage."