Learning F , & the Miraphone 181

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Chuck on October 26, 2002 at 14:56:08:

I am an amateur orchestral tubist in Atlanta, and am lucky enough to play in proably one of the best all-volunteer groups. We are doing Benvenuto Cellini in the Spring, so I knew I'd be needing an F tuba soon, and just took delivery of a new 6-valve Miraphone 181 in Goldbrass. Plus, in a week I have to play the bass trombone part for Mozart's requiem due to an absence. Though I won't play it up an octave, I think the lighter, more projecting tone of the F will be much more in that style that would my PT-6.

I have tried other F tubas before, and though I don't know my way around it yet really well, they just never had a sound I liked much (e.g. the MW 45SLP - which was a great horn - just too thin and stuffy below D). I have to say - and this is from a VERY inexperienced F tuba player, tha the Miraphone is really awesome. The low D still sounds like it is barely a note - need to figure out the best alternate fingering. But, the middle and high registers truly sing, and it gets a very good, thick sound if you want it too, but still maintains that rather compct german F characteristic. The bore is rather larg-ish, so you need to have pretty "fast" airflow, but it comes prety naturally.

Does anyone offer any advice on learning how to cope with the new fingerings, and more importantly, accomodating the needs of an F tuba and getting the most out of it? The one trick I need to work on is the number of valves required as you get low - you really do have to work at that (not used to using 5th that often - and not that quickly). I thought the 6th valve would be a joke, but it really does make a difference.