Life Choices... Passion vs Practical

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by ben on March 05, 2004 at 10:17:20:

I've gotten myself into a pickle lately. I've been working a great job for the last 5 years (I'm 28 yrs of youth), that pays well, is very career oriented, with great benefits, and I hate it. I work as an organic chemist for a major Phara company, and I do R&D... I find the work less and less interesting, and especially with the constant failures involved in chemical research. I'm very proficient in the practice, but I don't want to be playing with poisons for the rest of my life. For over a year, I've been saving up for a move of careers into music. So here's my problem... What do I do and how do I go about it? I know this sounds fairly wishy washy.

Details...
I live in Indianapolis, and I honestly can say that performing Tuba for a living here would be very dificult, although it is very cheap to live here. Currently I get called up to do some sub work with church orchestras, and am working toward sublists for local orchestras. I play in a jazz band, a low brass ensemble, wind symphony, and 2 different blues jams every week (albeit there is no money in any of those). Plus I double on Bass for a rock project.