I ACTUALLY attended Curtis

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Eric Bubacz on June 26, 2001 at 22:49:23:

I did not post with the thread because I felt this messsage should probably get some immediate attention and does not belong with Anon. Where to begin?!? I transferred from Eastman School of Music in 1992 to Curtis Institute in the fall of 1992. I graduated from Curtis in 1995. I briefly attended graduate school afterwards at the Peabody Conservatory. From my brief bio here, I can definitely tell you that I have attended some of the finest schools in the states and worked closely with some of the finest teachers.
In regards to Jason's query, Curtis Institute is simply the best orchestral experience an undergraduate can hope to have. The tuition is free. You are sitting beside some of the best students anywhere who also work with excellent teacher/coaches etc. The orchestra performs a new concert program each week in front of an audience often times with big name guest conductors. For example, when I was at Curtis, I worked with Simon Rattle, Yuri Temirkanov, Charles Duitoit, David Zinman, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Kurt Mazur, Leonard Slatkin, Eiji Oue, etc. this list goes on and on. Yes, there is only one tuba player at the Institute, but that is because there is usually only one tuba player in an orchestra. Because the school is tuition free, it becomes difficult to have too large a student body. In the brass section there were 3 tenor trombones, 1 bass-trombone, 4 trumpets, and 6 horns.