Re: Re: a dumb post here

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on May 23, 2003 at 13:40:20:

In Reply to: Re: a dumb post here posted by Chris Horsch on May 23, 2003 at 12:08:50:

Nobody here would want to risk their friendship with Mike by saying negative things, even if there were negative things to say. That ain't the purpose of this conversation.

As a devoted photographer, I read View Camera magazine. Most of the photographers who are reviewed in that magazine do work that impresses the heck out of me. The reviewers spend time describing the technical and artistic processes of the photographer--how he chooses subjects, how he makes technical decisions, what he hopes to achieve with his work, and so on--in addition to how the reviewer responds to the work. In the latter category, I see comments like "his use of wide-angle perspective brings me into the image" and "if you dislike the typical soot-and-chalk overuse of contrast, you'll love this work with its commitment to subtle gray tones" and "I confess some confusion about the purpose of rendering the foreground unsharp in this image."

I enjoy these articles, and derive a lot of benefit from them even though they often find no fault in the artist's work.