Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Who is he?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Joe Baker on June 16, 2000 at 15:40:52:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Who is he? posted by Jay Bertolet on June 16, 2000 at 15:02:09:

Sounds like there are basically three points:

1) "For one, I do not oppose amateur musicians playing concerts! Except where it
costs working musicians their livelihood."
I have a garden in my backyard, where I grow some vegetables. Should I be prohibited from this because I am depriving a tomato farmer of his livelihood? I also fix my own car. Should the law prevent this in order to provide greater income for professional mechanics? I am a computer professional. Suppose I got the legislature to prevent you from installing software on your own computer, because it deprives computer professionals of their livelihood. Tomato farmers, mechanics, and computer professionals all have to compete with amateurs. I have faith in musicians to do likewise.

2) "... competition is important in our economy. It keeps the best quality products on the shelves and it sustains businesses that do a good job. This logic does not apply to symphony orchestras! Why? Because orchestras cannot turn a profit."
So, why do they have to be non-profit?? Let them be for profit. Find out if audiences are really committed to the music. If so, the symphony will want to attract fine musicians so they can charge a higher ticket price. Some people will balk, and some orchestras will not survive, but the climate for those that DO survive will be much better, especially for the best players (that just sounds SOOO right!).