Re: Rudy Meinl

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Christian Klein on July 28, 2002 at 23:19:10:

In Reply to: Rudy Meinl posted by E on July 28, 2002 at 20:50:07:

Before I let my opinions flow...
Note that i've played only one pistion valve Rudolf Meinl instrument and I don't remember anything about it. I am not a pro, I consider myself an amateur, but I've played CC tuba since the age of 15 (i'm currently 26).

I did have the opportunity to play a number of new rudolf meinl instruments at Lee Stofer's in Atlanta recently (a 4/4 model 4345 CC which has the smaller valve set of the 3/4 CC, a 5/4 goldbrass CC, A 5/4 BBb, a 4/4 F, and a two 5/4 Fs). I also have owned a 4/4 RM CC for around 5-6 years.

Good things about Rudolf Meinl tubas:
===========================================
--intonation is quite good

--the rotor valves are quite light and fast. (I prefer rotors to pistons)

--the sound is quite colorful, significantly more colorful and interesting to me than Meinl Westons, Hirsbrunners, B&S, or Mirafones. (this comment is of course subject to my own tastes)

--the instruments from the 3/4 CC to the 5/4 CC and 4/4 and 5/4 F tubas are all about the same heigth, with the valves in just about the same places. Ergonomically all of them are pretty close to one another. This is definitely not the case with Meinl Weston.

--most of them are delivered with a second valve trigger. On every one i played, the trigger was where I expected it to be, in other words, i really didn't have to change the way i hold the horn to reach it. A second valve gadget has been an option on Rudolf Meinl tubas for quite some time. If one is going to move a slide while playing, it makes more sense to me to move the second valve slide since it affects significantly more notes than the first valve slide does. (Do the math, it's easy!)