Re: Vaughan-Williams Concerto with Jacobs

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Brian Frederiksen on January 22, 2003 at 00:25:26:

In Reply to: Vaughan-Williams Concerto with Jacobs posted by Frank on January 20, 2003 at 21:12:51:

The story about the Jacobs/Barenboim VW recording happened to take place in 1976-78. At that time I was a student and was working on the VW with him myself. The school I was going to at that time was located on the same floor as Mr Jacobs' studio. Here is what happened:

The concerto was scheduled the previous season but canncelled as Barenboim'e wife, cellist Jaquilin DePre, suffered a serious illness and passed away. A recording was scheduled with DGG but cancelled. The next season they scheduled the VW for recording but no concert. Traditionally, the CSO would perform a work at a subscription concert prior to recording, recording without a performance is a rarity.

When they finally did the recording, the CSO was reading the accompiment. I have never heard how many readings they did but prior to the recording, Mr Jacobs played alone in the hall. It was here they turned on the recorders (analog,as in tape) and started recording as he was playing the cadenzas. If you listen carefully you can hear the splice (remember, this is analog, not digital). They rushed through the entire session.