Re: Re: visualizing another instrument

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wade, check this out on December 09, 2003 at 16:47:01:

In Reply to: Re: visualizing another instrument posted by Wade on December 08, 2003 at 15:55:36:

It is Tabor. I thought you might find this interesting:

When writing a paper for a class on learning disabilities, one of the books I was reading had cited several studies which all had determined that people with dyslexia have more trouble with spatial-temporal tasks than those without the condition. Being a musician and teacher, I picked up on the spatial-temporal link right away, since it is the particular kind of knowledge (IQ) that music is said to enhance. I'd be interested in what a tubist with dyslexia thinks about the correlations.

My theory is that intensive music training may help dyslexic people compensate for processing differences in the brain. While I am not one to think that music is a cure-all, I do have a basis for my theory. I have two close friends who are both dyslexic and musicians. Interestingly enough, neither were ever formally diagnosed with dyslexia, because they had adapted to school so well. One of these friends (who has two Master of Music degrees) didn’t even know she had the condition until she was in college. Einstein was also dyslexic, but was a very talented musician in addition being a brilliant physicist. Our brains strive to build connections, as someone who has a brain injury can often relearn tasks thought to be gone forever, perhaps Einstein was unconsciously expanding up on his spatial-temporal knowledge.

From the Music Educator’s National Conference, I have found research that shows exactly how music study can actively contribute to an aspect of brain development, which appears to be very important for understanding mathematical and language skills. The research seems to support my theory that the intense study of music is likely help people with dyslexia.