Re: Tis the Season to Audition

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Chuck Jackson-Redux on December 31, 2002 at 15:28:55:

In Reply to: Tis the Season to Audition posted by Chuck Jackson on December 31, 2002 at 04:07:22:

Ok. I guess I should clear up one or two vagaries in my post. I came to teaching after a VERY successful playing career. I found that the age of 38 that I was not enjoying playing as much as I did when I was 21. BUT, I still loved talking music and imparting what little wisdom I had. I had taught in a one-on-one situation in the military and found it to be the most invigorating time of my life. My dreams of playing overshadowed what I now know to be my major contribution in life: Imparting the love of music to others through teaching. It really is a no-brainer. For as good a player as I was, and like to think I still marginally am, I am a much better teacher. The joy of watching young people get the spirit of music and grasp totally divergent thinking is the most incredible rush I can imagine. I am hard pressed to remember more than few times playing that I had this rush. In teaching it sometimes happens on an hourly basis.
Please forgive me if I gave the impression that teaching is a fall back. No one who abhors the thought of walking into a school and dealing with the personalities of teenagers should ever teach. I wish I had been more succinct in my initial post in saying that no one should shirk the possibility of teaching as a career. To give back the love of music to a child who is struggling to find that self-same love is the best we can do as musicians. Now, we can do in a private studio or on the podium, but we must all strive to continue throughout the countless generations that will follow us to keep the spark and love of music alive.