Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Tastes...

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Mark Heter on August 06, 2003 at 08:39:03:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Tastes... posted by issue on August 06, 2003 at 07:27:41:

I'm weighing in here because I'm old enough to have heard most of these guys (and others you don't mention who played great) LIVE. I was a Lincoln Center Student Award kid back in the 1960s who also haunted Carnegie Hall on his night off from the banjo band... I think I heard just about everybody who was active back then when they came to NYC.

Here's what's changed - we now have, thanks to the marketing of the conductors, instead of the music, an increasingly homogenous sound amongst orchestras - not just the brass. Back in the day, and this was even more apparent than on recordings, believe me, you could sit there blindfolded and tell which brass section was playing. These musicians were allowed to impart some musical personality to the pieces. Chicago SOUNDED like Chicago, and New York, Boston, etc. Today, there is constant pressure on the rochestra to sound like the guest conductor's latest CD, which is BS, but it's what the management wants. The result is everybody is starting to sound the same. The only one of them that seems to have maintained its personality is the Met Opera, because of the overlapping longevity of many of the musicians in the orchestra, and their unique position. Herb played his old leaky BBb Sanders there forever, and sounded GREAT. BTW, Mel Broiles played that gig on a B-flat trumpet as well. I believe the current tuba player does it on a BBb, because that fits the sound of that orchestra. It's kick to hear these guys play a concert without the singers - player for they are as good as anybody, but I digress.