Re: Hypothetical Question

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Dave Zerkel on September 03, 2000 at 22:14:00:

In Reply to: Hypothetical Question posted by Curious on September 03, 2000 at 21:23:10:

Hi.

Not an unreasonable question, but one that is pretty hard to quantify.

I discourage incoming students to enter as performance majors. I do so, not because I enjoy shooting down people's dreams, but rather because I know that the job market is awfully tough. I know that there have been lots of previous discussions on this list about "following one's dreams" and "not selling out", and as a 22 year old, I might have said the same thing. I have changed my tune for many reasons, but I'll try to limit my discussion to the generic reasons.

As a professor, I'm not going to give you anything less in lessons if you are an education major, a biology major or an Underwater Botany major. My goal as a teacher is to make you play as well as you want to play. In fact, I find it refreshing to teach students who are really talented who aren't betting the whole kit and kaboodle on playing in the CSO. I'd feel much better knowing that you are preparing for a vocation where you are immenently employable. As a performance major, you are not the most marketable individual out there...in fact you are not especially qualified to do anything that will put bread on the table. Harsh....? Nope. Realistic.

If you play the lights off the tuba and are incredibly talented, if it is your wish, I'll accept you as a performance major. I promise that I'll be incredibly hard on you and constantly question your commitment to the profession. I'd also do that for you if you were an Ed major... if that is what you want.