Re: Fred Marzan

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Grant Stephan on October 16, 2003 at 10:33:26:

In Reply to: Fred Marzan posted by Angela Marzan on October 16, 2003 at 08:07:20:

I was a student of Freds for the past 10 years. He was the person who gave me the love for music that I have today. I am not the best tuba player ever, but I am on my way towards the end of a FREE education that I recieved due to the practicing and ideals that I learned from him. I still practice an average of at least 2-4 hours a day and am always trying to better myself. I not only learned about the tuba but I also learned many things about a way of life.

If it were not for him I would not be a music major now, nor the person I am today. I lost my father early on in my high school career and even after that when I could not afford a lesson every week, Fred taught me no matter what. Maybe I had to come over and help him in the garden, go to "Old Mans Band" with him, or just sit and talk for 3 hours in my 1 hour lesson.

The values and ideas that I learned from Fred are things that I will never forget. As stated earlier, I may not be the best tuba player ever, but anything that I learned about teaching a student I learned from Fred. He had a way about himself that made a 6th grade student that I was, quit playing football to practice more tuba and have lessons.