Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jay Bertolet on November 28, 2001 at 17:28:11:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices posted by Rick Denney on November 28, 2001 at 13:02:04:

You know, I thought about doing exactly what you just suggested as a third option when I graduated high school. I really didn't want to study anything but tuba performance and it really bothered me that I had to take all those other (I thought) needless courses. When I graduated high school, my three college choices were (in order of preference):

Curtis
Northwestern
University of Michigan

Unfortunately, Curtis had no tuba opening that year. Also, Northwestern was having one of its "problems" with Mr. Jacobs teaching off campus that year. The story, as I was told, was that the university wanted him to teach on campus but he was settled in his studio downtown. Every now and then, they would have a tiff and decide to not work together for a year. 1979 was one of those years. Left with only my third choice, I seriously considered just moving to Chicago and studying privately. I decided against it because I felt I wouldn't get as much quality ensemble training as I might have needed going that route. Fortunately for me, Michigan turned out to be MUCH better than a clueless high school senior could have guessed and things worked out great. Had I chosen to just study privately and not gotten a complete musical education, I do not believe I would have been successful. There is just too much to learn as a musician that you don't get in private lessons.