Arnold Jacobs and Viennese tuba

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Zechmeister on November 08, 2000 at 15:55:18:

More details about the Wiener-pattern tubas and sources by Gerhard Zechmeister (Walter is my brother).

I studied the six valve Viennese Tuba with Prof. Leopold Kolar (a former Tuba-player of the Vienna Philharmonic) at the Vienna University of Music.
After some years playing the traditional small Viennese tuba (like Arnold Jacobs' Viennese tuba) I instigated the development of the 'Viennese Concert Tuba', in collaboration with the Austro-Czech instrument factory Musica (contact: UMI Austria), the prototype had been in production since 1983 and I played this prototype in the past as a member of the Oculus Brass Quintet (now well-known under the name Art of Brass Vienna) and as the tuba player of the United Philharmonic Vienna.
In 1998 the Viennese publisher Doblinger presented my "Systematic embouchure development training and review programme for the Viennese six valve Bass tuba in F". There you can find all details about handling this instrument.
In 1997 I developed in collaboration with the Viennese intrument maker Ankerl und the Viennese mouth-piece expert Karl Breslmair a six valve Contrabass trombone in F with the Viennese Tuba fingering system.
The Viennese tuba's design and its fingering system derive directly from the Moritz/Wieprecht 'Chromatic Basstuba' of 1835 (Berlin). V 1 (left): 1 whole tone, V 2 (left): 1 semitone, V 3 (left): short whole tone (intonation valve for contra range).
Holding down the fourth valve (V 3 of the right hand) turns the bass tuba in F into a contrabass tuba in C (without altering ist sound!). A sixth valve (V 3 of the left hand) was added later for intonation and auxiliary fingering.
V 2 (right) = V 5 diminishes the new base key of C (fourth valve pressed) by 1 semitone to B 1 or the base key of F (without the fourth valve) by a long semitone to E (auxiliary fingering).