Re: Re: looking for insight

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by David on March 21, 2002 at 10:33:03:

In Reply to: Re: looking for insight posted by Roger Lewis on March 20, 2002 at 11:16:18:

I attended both, albeit a long time ago, with Michigan as my choice for a masters degree and Indiana for continued studies beyond the masters - mostly to study with Harvey. Choose the school that you like the best after visiting and talking with current students and taking lessons with both teachers.

Mr. Lewis suggests that playing opportunities are not as wide spread in the Ann Arbor area. As a grad student, my wife (clarinetist) and I played in 4 or 5 paying community orchestras, some in the Detroit suburbs (45-50 miles away), and others in different parts of the state. Warren Deck played in Grand Rapids, when it was mostly a community orchestra, for 4 years and he became an okay player :-).

He is correct that the size of the school is not as big, therefore not as many ensembles. Does this matter? Look at schools back east that have just enough students for 1 orchestra and maybe only 1 brass quintet. This has not hampered many people.

The worst part for anyone is getting lost. If you are one of the "top" ones in the studio, that won't happen. What of the others?

This next advice has nothing to do with your dream of becoming the next guru of the tuba. Take courses outside music to prepare yourself for life. Business classes (accounting, marketing, business law), education classes, will help with your music business as well as in your personal life. In other words, music is a business whether you find yourself in a classroom or in an orchestra. Ask yourself or others on this board, how many of them teach lessons on the side, or play in non-traditional ensembles? Those require some business acumen.