Re: Musician's life in the Military

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Danny on June 19, 2003 at 19:18:46:

In Reply to: Musician's life in the Military posted by Curious on June 17, 2003 at 10:39:42:

I've actually spent a lot of time thinking about this thread, and am happy to see a lot of conversation about some very important musical issues that we deal with in the military. I'll say up front that I am new to the military band scene, and am loving it. I was told from the very beginning not to expect musical satisfaction from this job. So far, that may be true, and it may not. It has been discussed how to get over playing the same charts time and time again, and everything here said is right on, so I won't pretend to add any new insights to that. What I do have to add is on a different plane, and one that hasn't been discussed much. That is, our mission in the military as a musical organization: To enhance the mission, image and esprit de corps at home and abroad through musical support activities.