Re: Re: Willson 3050S Market?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on February 05, 2003 at 13:06:54:

In Reply to: Re: Willson 3050S Market? posted by tipster on February 04, 2003 at 13:47:25:

I think this method works great for instruments in common supply, and in the sort of price range normally freely tolerated on ebay. But I'm not sure that a Willson 3050 meets either one of these qualifications.

For one thing, a 3050 is a high-end professional instrument, and top pros don't shop for such instruments on an auction service. I'm no pro, but I did just buy a tuba that was by my standards expensive. I would not have dreamed of paying that for a tuba on an auction service, because of the added hassle of dealing with it if it is not a good player. In the price range of a Willson, a player will want either to travel to the seller to try it out, or he will at least want the recommendation of a trusted seller.

I also would not pay such sums using one of the credit-card go-betweens on the auction services, because they do not offer the same level of protection that I get from the credit-card company when it is used directly. So, if I buy an instrument over the phone from Mid-South, and you send me a boat anchor, I can challenge it with the credit-card company because you take credit cards directly. When going through a go-between, however, the protections are far more limited, because what you bought with your credit card was the go-between service, not the item. I'll still use it, but only within a limit of tolerable loss.