Re: Teachers

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jay Bertolet on February 03, 2001 at 09:18:54:

In Reply to: Teachers posted by Curious on February 02, 2001 at 00:33:44:

Okay, as a teacher myself I'll try to answer your questions as best I can.

1) "I have also noticed that if one plays with a certain style they may have been taught that a teacher from the other style will not be pleased with their performance. Has this been everyone else's experience or not?"

No, that has not been my experience. Every good teacher I know of does not come into their lessons with rigid guidelines about the mechanics or style of playing. Certainly there are truisms in some of what we do but for every absolute you can state, I can show you a player who sounds great and doesn't do what you stated. A good teacher will listen to YOU and then decide, drawing on his knowledge and experience, what is the best course for improvement. If you find a teacher who says that you must play like he does or with a certain, specific embouchure, I would suggest you stay away. I also believe you won't find many teachers like that.

2) "Which teachers teach the "wide open" style of playing? Which teachers teach the gradually changing of the jaw? I know it will have a vast difference on where some people would like to go to school."

No, these things do not make a vast difference in choosing a school. To answer your question, most teachers teach all of these techniques. Some use them themselves. Pretty much all teachers understand these techniques and the effects they have in the student's playing.

3) "I am mostly interested in what teachers teach which style as I am looking for a place to study."