Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Teaching and reality

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Joe Baker on December 19, 2003 at 12:39:30:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Teaching and reality posted by Kenneth Sloan on December 18, 2003 at 15:15:58:

I think we agree on much, but disagree on something quite important.

First, let me say that every undergraduate degree offered by any college or university should include a healthy dose of literature, composition, sociology, psychology, philosophy, history, economics, math and science. One is not educated without some understanding in all of these areas, and any person's life and career will both be well served by that education. It is disgraceful that a person can receive a Bachelor's degree without study of all the above disciplines. I was somewhat dismayed when I graduated that my computer science degree was a BA instead of a BS, but the more rounded education I received has served me very well, and the additional specialized courses have not been missed.

But having said that, I think it naive to dismiss the notion that education is also important in preparing for a career, and is often essential for students aspiring to achieve a particular type of employment. I'll be the first to agree that the right individual could have a degree in computer science, accounting, or oriental art, and I could teach them to develop software at a professional level in about the same amount of time; however, having completed coursework in computer science demonstrates the CS major's aptitude, showing me that she's got a very good chance of being the right individual. Perhaps the others have that aptitude, perhaps not. But there are very few jobs these days, and employers can be very selective. Why should I take a chance on the oriental art graduate when I have a CS grad who has demonstrated his aptitude?