Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: tuba musical performance - pet peeve

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on September 03, 2002 at 22:12:43:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: tuba musical performance - pet peeve posted by Brandon Ostrom on September 03, 2002 at 16:23:31:

The key here is not to judge it as a musician, but as a music lover. When technique gets in the way of the love affair with music, then it has gone too far. This can be either good technique or bad technique, it seems to me. The point of technique is to serve the music--the moment it becomes technique for its own sake it undermines the music. Of course, some music isn't really written to be musical, but rather to demonstrate technique, in which case it's an amusing parlor trick.

Or so it seems to me.

I have never heard of a live performance of musicians that was without some technical error. As a musician, I notice them. But in many cases that detracted absolutely nothing from the musicality of the work, and I didn't really register them in the part of my minds most engaged during the performance.

If a blatty low note brings attention to itself to the point where the musical mind is interrupted, then it is not serving the music. If, on the other hand, a blatty low note adds to the music, it won't be noticed as such. Perhaps the Penderecki (which is so far out of my reach that I'm unfamiliar with it) is that sort of work.