Re: ContrabassBass Tuba

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on August 18, 2002 at 21:40:07:

In Reply to: ContrabassBass Tuba posted by Eric on August 15, 2002 at 18:14:36:

I'll attempt a serious answer taking a viewpoint different from what we've seen in a while.

When I was a car mechanic working my way through college, I had a fairly good set of tools. This set included no fewer than six sets of sockets that all covered the same size range. Let's see...I had a short six-point set, a deep six-point set, a 12-point set, a thick-walled set for impact wrenches, a set with wobble joints on them, and a set with impact-capable ball joints on them. We aren't even talking about different socket drive sizes. Any one of these sets would work on 95% of the bolts I ran across, but I still had six sets. Why? Two reasons: The first was that 5% of situations that just wouldn't work with one set but would with another. The most important reason, however, was that I was a professional mechanic paid by the flat rate hour, and the faster I worked the more I made. The different tool options allowed me to get the most done in the least time.

My point is that it is a question of efficiency. Sure, a great player will sound great on any good horn. But how hard does a working pro want to have to work to get the result he needs? If he can get the same results with less effort using several horns, then he makes more money for the amount of work he has to do. He can put that extra capacity into something else, like teaching, or other sorts of gigs, or spending time with his family, or getting just a little bit closer to that perfect performance that eludes even the best pros.