Re: Re: Burnt out

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rubba-Dub-Dub, I've been in the same boat on August 09, 2000 at 23:52:07:

In Reply to: Re: Burnt out posted by ###### on August 06, 2000 at 18:52:30:

I recently left teaching High School after five short years. I was burned-out and most of it had to do with teaching instrumental music in grades 5-12 in three buildings, the tremendous amount of work (marching in drum corps,I used to love Marching Band & now I realize that all of my Undergrad Professors were right; Marching Band sucks!), and the really poor paycheck as a result of my hard work. It was nothing for me to spend 12-14 hours daily in my office or the Band Room just trying to get a poor Band program moving in the right direction. As an Undergrad, I knew that getting a Euphonium Undergraduate Performance degree was almost completely worthless.

After talking to a good friend, he encouraged me to obtain my Master's in Euphonium Performance. This has completely changed my outlook on things, however, when I am finished with this degree, I must either go back to public school (ouch!) or apply for a Doctoral Program, with the hopes of teaching collegiately, which *could be* a financial back step.

I've been encouraged, as hopefully you will, by the following quote: "As for all things we do in this life, no matter how hard we try, we can not escape what we are."

Or better yet; "Every new job is great for the first two months."